Judy Kay-Wolff

JUST ANOTHER HAND ….. (PART I)

Let me offer to all knowledgeable players something for their consideration.   This is not a trick hand.  
Here are the conditions.

Both vulnerable; Dealer is South; the Auction proceeds:

South     West     North     East
  P            1H          1S          4H
4S             P          P            ?

Here is East’s hand:   A4    J10873   85    J962

What is your call?     PART II tomorrow.


12 Comments

Blair FedderMarch 7th, 2010 at 3:40 pm

I pass, like the defensive value of the doubleton diamond and the club J w/its length, as well as the spade ace

Larry CohenMarch 7th, 2010 at 4:30 pm

I can’t imagine anything other than Pass. Worse, I suspect some sort of ruling will be involved–where Pass should become required.

Paul D EastMarch 7th, 2010 at 5:05 pm

I am not sure I count as a “knowledgeable player”, but here goes anyway. Isn’t this about what I showed by bidding 4 Hearts. I have no singleton, no side suit, and what highs I have are in opponent’s suit. I think Pass is clear cut.

roger pewickMarch 7th, 2010 at 6:37 pm

2H

Paul D O'BrienMarch 7th, 2010 at 9:56 pm

I also pass especially at IMPS.

Ross TaylorMarch 8th, 2010 at 5:50 am

I pass automatically, having regret for my initial 4H bid with Ax of spades. I suspect we are next going to hear how the hand holder felt compelled to reopen based on his ‘surprise’ side ace – notwithstanding his partner’s (I am guessing) ‘discomfort’ (read…..hitch, delay, tank, etc.) over 4S.

I’ll reserve further comment till part II is posted.

Chuck ArthurMarch 8th, 2010 at 7:52 am

Pass, and quickly. I know that my 4 hearts was wrong, but I live with it.

David LindopMarch 8th, 2010 at 8:48 am

I don’t particularly like the 4H bid, perhaps 2H would have been better. However, having decided to bid 4H, I think pass is pretty clear cut. I’ve made the opponents make the final guess. If I bid again (double?), then the position is reversed. South’s 4S bid is now making our side make the final guess.

Double is fine in this sequence in certain situations. Typically when I think we were making 4H. Here, I have no reason to think we were making 4H, and I have no idea whether 4S will make or go down.

Danny KleinmanMarch 8th, 2010 at 10:54 am

Pass. Let the preempt, good or bad, do its work, which is to make the opponents guess and hope they guess wrong. The only time a preemptor should consider further voluntary action is when he has a favorable surprise: surprising extra offense (bid again) or surprising extra defense (double). A side ace is not a surprise, but well within the normal value for 4H (which does not show an abjectly weak hand for defensive purposes).

JUDY KAY-WOLFFMarch 8th, 2010 at 11:56 am

Thank you guys for taking the time to share your views. I am gonna give it a couple more hours and I think you will appreciate the full story and my (and Bobby’s) point of view.

Later ….

Judy

Martha BeecherMarch 8th, 2010 at 12:28 pm

Pass is the only bid.

PaulMarch 9th, 2010 at 3:01 am

Pass. The choice was made with the previous bid.

Leave a comment

Your comment